Banner Pilot (2005-present) is a punk band from Minneapolis, Minnesota. Their music is heavily influenced by acts such as Jawbreaker, The Lawrence Arms, Screeching Weasel, and Hot Water Music.


The band was formed by Nate Gangelhoff and Nick Johnson in 2005 following the dissolution of their previous band, Rivethead. The two self-released a demo the same year, garnering positive reviews from both Punknews and Razorcake. The following year they released the EP Pass the Poison and toured the East Coast, drawing the attention of Go-Kart Records.

In late 2007 and early 2008 the band recorded their Go-Kart Records debut full length, Resignation Day. Mike left the band to return to school and Corey was recruited as a replacement for their summer West Coast tour.

In April, 2009 Banner Pilot was signed to Fat Wreck Chords. Their first album for the label, titled Collapser was released on September 1, 2009. Shortly after they embarked on an East Coast tour in support of the album with labelmates Dead to Me and Teenage Bottlerocket that included an appearance at The Fest in Gainesville, Florida.

Fat Wreck Chords also released a remixed version of the band's first album, Resignation Day in 2010.

In April, 2010, the band did a European tour, which included a stop at Groezrock, an annual music festival in Belgium.

Other projects

Nate is a guitarist in the punk band The Gateway District and occasionally plays with Off With Their Heads. He is also a writer, having recently released a book that is a compilation of his zines entitled You Idiot . Corey is the guitarist/vocalist for Minneapolis punk band The Manix.