Manila, Philippines

ChicoSci (often spelled as Chicosci) is a 5-piece Filipino rock band based in Manila. The band is composed of Miggy Chavez, Mong Alcaraz, Calde Calderon, Macoy Estacio and Ariel Lumanlan. The group started out as a peer of young college kids from the Ateneo de Manila University, ChicoSci (previously Chico Science) was originally composed of Miguel "Miggy" Chavez, Miguel "Mong" Alcaraz, Carlos "Calde" Calderon, Jan Kevin Santos and Joel Salvador. The five enjoyed playing together so much that they decided to take their music seriously by recruiting guitarist Sonny Baquisal and long-time friend Eugene "Yug" Esquivias to solidify the songwriting process. The band won an inter school Battle of the Bands and spent the prize money in recording a demo – an investment that landed them a two-album record deal with EMI Philippines. The band released the albums Revenge of the Giant Robot and Method of Breathing.