James H. Helms (born 1944, Florida, United States) is an American soul singer. Career, Early days: Helms' first release "Ragtime Girl" was put out on Pye Records in 1963. Later, in 1969, London Records released "If You Let Me", neither of these early releases made much of an impact but helped to push Helms into the spotlight in the 1970s. Helms signed to Fly Records in 1972, and released "So Long Love". However, he is best known for his #8 UK hit single, "I'm Gonna Make You an Offer You Can't Refuse"; whilst further releases such as "I'll Take Good Care of You" and "Jack Horner's Holiday" failed to match its success. "I'm Gonna Make You an Offer You Can't Refuse" was written and produced by Johnny Worth. Helms sang Elmer Bernstein and Don Black's title song for the 1974 adventure film Gold, starring Roger Moore. In 1974 he appeared as the Kingfisher on Roger Glover's The Butterfly Ball and the Grasshopper's Feast, performing "Waiting." The album also featured Ronnie James Dio, Glenn Hughes, David Coverdale, Tony Ashton and John Lawton (musician). In 1976, Helms performed on two songs for Eddie Hardin's Wizard's Convention album ("Loose Ends" and "She's a Woman.") In 1977, a link-up with the producer, Biddu, saw Helms release the "Black Joy" single and soundtrack album. 1980s and 1990s: Helms also contributed to the soundtrack of the 1985 movie, Water, and was involved in the mid 1980s stage musical Time, performing several songs on the accompanying album. Still working heavily as a session musician, Helms appeared alongside Madness, Then Jerico, Roachford, Godley & Creme and Deacon Blue, while his own next album, Speak, appeared in 1988. Helms was often heard singing vocals on many radio jingles on Independent Local Radio stations in the United Kingdom. His voice was particularly prominent on the alfasound produced ident packages for Pennine Radio, Radio Hallam and the Yorkshire Radio Network. Londonbeat: Helms, along with band members George Chandler (ex-The Olympic Runners), Jimmy Chambers, and William Henshall formed the band, Londonbeat, who were initially big in the Netherlands. The group's hits included the Helms penned "I've Been Thinking About You", "A Better Love" and "9 A.M (The Comfort Zone)". In 2003, the band were re-formed as 'New Londonbeat' with a new line-up consisting of Jimmy Helms, Jimmy Chambers, Myles Kayne and Marc Goldschmitz. Signed to the German record label, Coconut, they released an album called Back in the Hi-Life, which featured re-recordings of "A Better Love", "I've Been Thinking About You", and with new tracks added.