The House of Love is an English rock band. Formed in 1986, the band rose to prominence in the UK as a leading indie-rock band in 1988 and split up in 1993, eventually reforming a decade later in 2003. The band is best known for its detailed psychedelic guitar sound and for the successful singles "Shine On", "Christine" and "Destroy the Heart". The best-known members of The House of Love are singer/songwriter/guitarist Guy Chadwick and lead guitarist/backing singer Terry Bickers, who were the creative core of the original band until an acrimonious split in 1989 and who reformed the band together in 2003. The House of Love were formed in 1986 in Camberwell, London by former Kingdoms singer/guitarist Guy Chadwick. Chadwick had been inspired to start a new band by having recently seen The Jesus and Mary Chain playing live at London's Electric Ballroom and having written a new song called "Christine", which had given him ideas for further progress: "the idea of the sound of the group and what kind of musicians to look for... female vocals... a good take on the Velvets' sonics... and of course the image." Having initially made a false start by briefly recruiting an unnamed guitarist who turned out to be "a speed dealer... a complete nutter",Chadwick teamed up with an old friend - drummer Pete Evans - and recruited the rest of the initial House of Love lineup via an advert in Melody Maker. This brought together an international band of London-born lead guitarist Terry Bickers (ex-Colenso Parade), German rhythm guitarist/co-singer Andrea Heukamp and bass player Chris Groothuizen (from New Zealand). Chadwick opted to name his new band The House of Love after Anais Nin's book A Spy in the House of Love.