Twin Atlantic are an alternative rock band from Glasgow, Scotland. The band is composed of Sam McTrusty (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Barry McKenna (lead guitar, cello, backing vocals), Ross McNae (bass guitar, piano, backing vocals) and Craig Kneale (drums, percussion, backing vocals).


Formation, A Guidance From Colour (2007-2008):

Twin Atlantic formed in February 2007. All members previously played in other small, local bands. During 2007 they built up a strong reputation both locally and nationally. They supported Circa Survive and mewithoutyou before recording their debut EP A Guidance From Colour at Long Wave Studio in Cardiff with producer Romesh Dodangoda (Funeral For A Friend, Kids In Glass Houses, The Blackout). This culminated in the release of their debut EP on 14 January 2008 and their first single, "Audience & Audio", on 24 December 2007.

Building on support from Kerrang!, the band's profile was boosted enough for them to land support slots with Biffy Clyro and they were personally chosen by Jimmy Chamberlin to support Smashing Pumpkins at Glasgow's SECC in early February. Over the following months, they also supported American acts The Matches, Blink-182, Finch and Say Anything on their respective UK tours.

In mid-2008, Twin Atlantic played many festivals in Scotland, including T in the Park, Belladrum Festival, RockNess, Live at Loch Lomond and Connect Music Festival.

The band signed a single deal with King Tuts Recordings, and "What Is Light? Where Is Laughter?" was released on 29 September 2008. They also completed a joint headline tour of Scotland with The Xcerts and their first set of solo headline dates across the UK.

The Glasgow four piece were chosen as the main support for The Subways on their European tour throughout October and November 2008.

The band finished a UK headline tour which concluded with a sold out gig at the Classic Grand in Glasgow on 6 December 2008.

Vivarium (2009-2010):

In March 2009, Twin Atlantic released their debut mini-album Vivarium. They released the lead single "Lightspeed" as a free download from their website on 29 July 2009, with a bonus acoustic version of the track also available. The follow-up single "You're Turning Into John Wayne" was released on 7 September 2009, with the mini-album released a week later.

On 7 March 2009, they played a sold out gig at Queen Margaret Union (QMU).

The band toured extensively in 2009 and 2010, having played Download Festival, Guilfest, T in the Park, Sonisphere and Belladrum over the summer of 2009, including supporting Taking Back Sunday on a tour of UK and Ireland in July 2009. This continued into a full tour of the UK in September and then the United States with The Fall of Troy and Envy On The Coast in March and April 2010. In June 2010, Twin Atlantic supported The Gaslight Anthem on their British mini-tour and on 7 August 2010 they played at the Hevy Music Festival.

Twin Atlantic played at the sold-out Belsonic festival in Belfast on 28 August 2010 supporting Biffy Clyro.

On 21 October 2010, the band announced, via their Facebook page, that they would be supporting My Chemical Romance for three upcoming dates.

Free (2011-present):

Twin Atlantic finished recording their new album, Free, and it was released on April 29, 2011 in the Republic of Ireland and May 2, 2011 in the United Kingdom. The albums first single was "Edit Me", released on February 14.

In January they supported Angels & Airwaves in Continental Europe.

Second single "Free" was first played on BBC Radio 1 on the Zane Lowe show between 7 pm & 9 pm on March 10 and released on The third single released was "Time For You To Stand Up" on the 11th of July, with "Cherry Slut" and "Babylonian Throwdown" as B-sides. On the 26th of September, a fourth single was released from the album; "Make A Beast Of Myself", including the B-side "Your Amazing Lying, Lion, Lie In".

In the summer of 2012, the band will be on the Vans Warped Tour.

Band members

Sam McTrusty - lead vocals, rhythm guitar,

Barry McKenna - lead guitar, cello, keyboards, backing vocals,

Ross McNae - bass guitar, keyboards, backing vocals,

Craig Kneale - drums, percussion, backing vocals